Skip to main content Start of content

CC30 Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 4
Tuesday, February 6, 2007

The Legislative Committee on Bill C-30 met in a televised videconference session at 9:08 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Laurie Hawn, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bernard Bigras, Nathan Cullen, Hon. John Godfrey, Laurie Hawn, Mark Holland, Brian Jean, Marcel Lussier, Fabian Manning, David J. McGuinty, Hon. Christian Paradis, Francis Scarpaleggia, Mark Warawa and Jeff Watson.


Other Members present: Dennis Bevington and Steven Blaney.


In attendance: Parliamentary Information and Research Service: Sam Banks, Analyst. Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure of the Legislative Committee on Bill C-30: Tim Williams.


Witnesses: Assembly of First Nations: Bill Erasmus, Chief; Stuart Wuttke, Director Environmental Stewardship. University of British Columbia: David Boyd, Adjunct Professor, Policy. Association Québécoise de la lutte contre la pollution atmosphérique: Mathieu Castonguay. University of Quebec at Chicoutimi: Claude Villeneuve, Biologist.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

The Chair presented the First Report from the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure which read as follows:

The Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure of the Legislative Committee on Bill C-30 has the honour to present its FIRST REPORT Your Subcommittee recommends the following:

That the Committee schedule be:

Tuesdays: 9 a.m. to 11 a.m., and 3:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m.

Thursdays: 9 a.m. to 11 a.m. And that

Mondays beginning at 5:30 p.m. be a tentative meeting date.

That the following themes be used by the Committee in its study of Bill C-30:

1. International aspects

2. Climate Change

3. Transportation

4. Target setting

5. Large Industry

6. Tools (such as emissions trading schemes)

7. Air Pollution

8. IPCC report

That the following witnesses be invited to appear based on the schedule below :

- Climate Change (February 6, a.m.):

Assembly of First Nations

University of Québec at Chicoutimi : Claude Villeneuve

University of British Columbia: David Boyd

Association Québécoise de la lutte contre la pollution atmosphérique : André Bélisle

- Transportation (February 6, p.m.):

Canadian Vehicle Manufacturers’ Association: Mark A. Nantais

Pollution Probe: Kenneth B. Ogilvie

Canadian Auto Workers Union: Buzz Hargrove

Denis Desrosiers

University of California: Daniel Sperling

- Target Setting (February 12) :

Canadian Chamber of Commerce

Greenpeace : Steven Guilbault

Simon Fraser University: Dr. Mark Jaccard

National Round Table on the Environment and the Economy

- International (February 13, a.m.):

Pew Charitable Trust

Commissioner for Environment, European Commission : Stavros Dimas

International Institute of Sustainable Development: John Drexhage

Stern Review: Sir Nicholas Stern or George Norris

California Environmental Protection Agency: Terry Taminen

- Air Pollution (February 13, p.m. and February 15 a.m.) :

To be determined

- International Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Report (February 19):

University of Victoria: Andrew Weaver

University of Toronto: Dick Pelletier

IPCC: John Stone

- Large Industry :

A: Oil and Gas (February 20, a.m.)

Pembina Institute

SunCor Energy: Gord Lambert

Canadian Gas Association : Michael Cleland

Syncrude : Don Thompson

B: Energy Generation (February 20, p.m.)

TransAlta : Robert J.D. Page

Ontario Power Generation : Dr. Blair Feltmate

Canadian Wind Energy Association

Canadian Nuclear Association


C: Manufacturers (February 22, a.m.):

Forest Products Association of Canada: Avram Lazar

Alcan Aluminium: Daniel Gagner

Canadian Steel Producers Association Mining Association of Canada

Interface Flooring Canada

- Tools:

A. Co2 capture (February 27, a.m.):

Integrated Co2 Network (ICON) : Stephen Kauffman

University of Calgary: Dr. David Keith

B. Energy Efficiency (February 27, a.m.):

Canadian Federation of Municipalities

Équiterre : Hugo Séguin


C. Emissions Trading Systems (February 27, p.m.):

European Commission Montreal Climate Exchange : Luc Bertrand

International Emissions Trading Association: Andrei Marcu

Greenhouse Emissions Management Consortium : Aldyen Donnelly

D. Fiscal/Instruments Issues (March 1, a.m.):

Canadian Renewable Fuels Association

Canadian Labor Congress : Hassan Yussuf

Chrysalix Energy Management : Michael J. Brown

Iogen Corp : Jeff Passmore

Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development


On motion of Nathan Cullen, it was agreed, — That the First Report of the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure be concurred in.


At 9:13 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:15 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, December 4, 2006, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-30, An Act to amend the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, the Energy Efficiency Act and the Motor Vehicle Fuel Consumption Standards Act (Canada's Clean Air Act).

Bill Erasmus, Claude Villeneuve, David Boyd and Matthieu Castonguay made statements and answered questions.


At 11:01 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Chad Mariage
Clerk of the Committee

2007/05/03 12:39 p.m.