Skip to main content
Start of content

CC2 Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 4
Tuesday, May 9, 2006

The Legislative Committee on Bill C-2 met in a televised session at 3:32 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, David Tilson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: André Bellavance, Mark Holland, Pat Martin, James Moore, Rob Moore, Brian Murphy, Hon. Stephen Owen, Daniel Petit, Pierre Poilievre, Scott Reid, Benoît Sauvageau, David Tilson and Alan Tonks.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Katherine Kirkwood, Analyst. House of Commons: Joann Garbig, Legislative Clerk.


Witnesses: Office of the Auditor General of Canada: Sheila Fraser, Auditor General ; John Wiersema, Deputy Auditor General; Jean Ste-Marie, Assistant Auditor General and Legal Advisor.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, April 27, 2006, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-2, An Act providing for conflict of interest rules, restrictions on election financing and measures respecting administrative transparency, oversight and accountability.

Sheila Fraser made a statement and answered questions.


By unanimous consent, it was agreed, — That the time allotted for witnesses be extended to an additional round of questioning.


At 4:49 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:52 p.m., the sitting resumed.


The Committee resumed consideration of the First Report of the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure


On Item No. 4a, That each witness or group of witnesses have a total of 10 minutes in which to make an opening statement.


Stephen Owen moved, — That item No. 4a be amended by adding after the words “or group of witnesses” the following: “presenting a common position”.


The question was put on the motion, as amended, and it was negatived, by a show of hands: YEAS: 2; NAYS: 6.


The question was put on the motion and the results of the vote was announced: YEAS: 6; NAYS: 6.

Whereupon, the Chair voted in the affirmative.

Accordingly, the motion was agreed to.


The Chair called the question on Item No. 4B.


The question was put on the motion and the result of the vote was announced: YEAS: 6; NAYS: 6.

Whereupon, the Chair voted in the negative.

Accordingly, the motion was negatived.


Benoît Sauvageau moved, — That this Committee calls on the government to immediately proclaim Bill C-11, An Act to establish a procedure for the disclosure of wrongdoings in the public sector, including the protection of persons who disclose the wrongdoings.



The Chair has examined this motion carefully as to its procedural acceptability and has arrived at the following observations and conclusions.

In the last Parliament, Bill C-11 was given royal assent on November 25, 2005. It contained a provision for its coming-into-force to be fixed by order of the Governor-in-Council. To date, no proclamation has been issued for its coming-into-force.

The essence of Mr. Sauvageau’s motion is to call on the government to proclaim a statute, the Public Servants Disclosure Protection Act, which is being further amended by Bill C-2.

The mandate of this legislative committee is to examine Bill C-2 and to report it to the House with or without amendment. The committee has no authority to go beyond this mandate and to comment on the actions of the Governor-in-Council regarding the proclamation of other statutes – even those which may be amended by Bill C-2.

Therefore, I would rule that this motion is inadmissible as it goes beyond the mandate of the committee.


At 5:23 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2006/05/15 4:30 p.m.