Skip to main content
Start of content

CC2 Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 15
Tuesday, May 30, 2006

The Legislative Committee on Bill C-2 met in a televised session at 6:00 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, David Tilson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Monique Guay, Hon. Marlene Jennings, Pierre Lemieux, Tom Lukiwski, Pat Martin, James Moore, Rob Moore, Brian Murphy, Hon. Stephen Owen, Daniel Petit, Pierre Poilievre, Benoît Sauvageau, David Tilson and Alan Tonks.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Nancy Holmes, Analyst; Élise Hurtubise-Loranger, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canada Foundation for Innovation: Eliot A. Phillipson, President and Chief Executive Officer; Suzanne Corbeil, Vice-President, External Relations. Canada Health Infoway: Michael Sheridan, Chief Operating Officer; Joan Roch, Chief Privacy Strategist. Canada Millennium Scholarship Foundation: Norman Riddell, Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer; Andrew Parkin, Director, Research and Program Development. Canada Foundation for Sustainable Development Technology: Vicky J. Sharpe, President and Chief Executive Officer; Christopher Bredt, Partner, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP. Genome Canada: Martin Godbout, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Health Services Research Foundation: Elizabeth Davis, Chair, Board of Trustees; Jonathan Lomas, Chief Executive Officer. National Arts Centre: David S.R. Leighton, Past Chairman of the Board; Darrell Gregersen, Chief Executive Officer, NAC Foundation.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, April 27, 2006, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-2, An Act providing for conflict of interest rules, restrictions on election financing and measures respecting administrative transparency, oversight and accountability.

Pursuant to Standing Order 75(1), consideration of Clause 1 is postponed.

The Chair calls Clause 2.


Eliot A. Phillipson made a statement and, with Suzanne Corbeil, answered questions.


Michael Sheridan and Norman Riddell made statements and answered questions.


At 6:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:06 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Alan Tonks took the Chair.


Vicky Sharpe, Martin Godbout, Sister Elizabeth Davis and David Leighton made statements and answered questions.


At 8:13 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2006/06/05 5:13 p.m.