Skip to main content Start of content

OGGO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 57
Monday, October 31, 2005

The Standing Committee on Government Operations and Estimates met in a televised session at 3:32 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Leon Benoit, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Leon Benoit, Ken Boshcoff, Marc Godbout, Gary Lunn, Hon. Diane Marleau, Pat Martin, Pierre Poilievre, Joe Preston, Christian Simard, Paul Szabo and Louise Thibault.


Acting Members present: Brian Pallister for Gary Lunn and Yasmin Ratansi for Francis Scarpaleggia.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Philippe Le Goff, Analyst; Tara Gray, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. John McCallum, Minister of National Revenue.


Witnesses: Privy Council Office: Peter Simeoni, Acting Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet, Senior Personnel and Special Projects Secretariat; Renée Caron, Director, Appointments and Recruitment, Senior Personnel and Special Projects Secretariat. Royal Canadian Mint: Marguerite Nadeau, Interim President and CEO; J. Marc Brûlé, Director, Board of Directors. Canada Revenue Agency: Michel Dorais, Commissioner.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and 108(3)(c)(ix) and the motion adopted by the Committee on November 25, 2005 the Committee resumed its examination of the appointment process for top executives, including members of the board, of Crown corporations, agencies and foundations.

Joe Preston moved, — That the Standing Committee on Government Operations and Estimates calls on David Dingwall, the Minister responsible for Technology Partnership Canada, and Graeme McRae President and CEO from Bioniche to appear at the earliest possible date in order to reexamine David Dingwall’s committee testimony from Wednesday, October 19, 2005.

Debate arose thereon.


On motion of Louise Thibault, it was agreed, — That the motion be amended by adding the words “and the Director General of Democracy Watch or his representative” after the word “Bioniche”.


The question was put on the motion, as amended, and it was agreed to, by a show of hands: YEAS: 6; NAYS: 5.


Peter Simeoni made a statement and answered questions.


At 4:33 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:36 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and 108(3)(c)(ix) and the motion adopted by the Committee on October 26, 2005, the Committee commenced its examination of governance issues regarding both Canada Post and the Royal Canadian Mint and follow up to the expense claims, settlements and audits of both Hon. André Ouellet and Hon. David Dingwall.

The Minister made a statement and answered questions.


At 5:35 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2005/12/07 11:50 a.m.