Skip to main content
Start of content

OGGO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 43
Thursday, June 9, 2005

The Standing Committee on Government Operations and Estimates met in camera at 3:33 p.m. this day, in Room 308 West Block, the Chair, Leon Benoit, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Leon Benoit, Ken Boshcoff, Marcel Gagnon, Marc Godbout, Guy Lauzon, Pat Martin, Francis Scarpaleggia, Paul Szabo and Louise Thibault.


Acting Members present: Larry Bagnell for Francis Scarpaleggia and Pierre Poilievre for Joe Preston.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Philippe Le Goff, Analyst.


Witnesses: Public Service Human Resources Management Agency of Canada: Ralph Heintzman, Vice-President, Public Service Values and Ethics. Department of Justice: Jane Graham, Counsel, Legal Services, Treasury Board Secretariat.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, October 18, 2004, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-11, An Act to establish a procedure for the disclosure of wrongdoings in the public sector, including the protection of persons who disclose the wrongdoings.

Pursuant to Standing Order 75(1), consideration of Clause 1 was postponed.

The Chair called Clause 2.


The witnesses answered questions.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the Committee waive further consideration of the certificate of nomination of Michel Doyon and convey its support of the nomination of Michel Doyon, Q.C., to the position of member and Chairperson of the Payments in lieu of Taxes Dispute Advisory Panel.


It was agreed, — That the members of the Committee submit to the Clerk of the Committee all of their proposed amendments to Bill C-11 no later than 12:00 p.m. on Friday, June 17, 2005.


It was agreed, — That the Committee commence clause-by-clause consideration of Bill C-11 on Tuesday, June 21, 2005.


At 5:29 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2005-06-14 2:42 p.m.