Skip to main content Start of content

OGGO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 31
Tuesday, April 12, 2005

The Standing Committee on Government Operations and Estimates met in camera at 3:34 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C Centre Block, the Chair, Leon Benoit, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Leon Benoit, Ken Boshcoff, Marcel Gagnon, Marc Godbout, Guy Lauzon, Diane Marleau, Pat Martin, Joe Preston, Francis Scarpaleggia, Paul Szabo and Louise Thibault.


Acting Members present: Pierre Poilievre for Randy White, Benoît Sauvageau for Marcel Gagnon and Lloyd St. Amand for Marc Godbout.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Philippe Le Goff, Analyst; Tara Gray, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. Reg Alcock, President of the Treasury Board.


Witnesses: Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat: Stephen Silcox, Special Advisor, Corporate Services.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the Committee obtain the Deloitte and Touche report regarding Canada Post's sponsorship, marketing and advertising activities and that following receipt of the report the Committee invite former Canada Post president André Ouellet to appear before it.


It was agreed, — That the Committee obtain copies of the contract entered into by the Royal Canadian Mint and Tim Hortons for the distribution of the Poppy Coin, and that the Committee invite the President and the Chair of the Board of the Royal Canadian Mint to appear before it if the Committee deems it necessary.


It was agreed, — That the Committee invite Moya Greene, nominee for the position of President of Canada Post and Gordon Feeney, Chairman of the Board of Canada Post, to appear before it for a review of the proposed appointment.


At 4:16 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:17 p.m., the sitting resumed in public.

Pursuant to Standing Order 81(4), the Committee resumed consideration of the Main Estimates 2005-2006: Votes 1, 5, 10, 20, 25, 30 and 35 under TREASURY BOARD referred to the Committee on Friday, February 25, 2005.

The Chair called Vote 1 under TREASURY BOARD.


The Minister made a statement and, with Stephen Silcox, answered questions.


At 5:37 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2005-04-20 7:55 a.m.