Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 48
Thursday, June 23, 2005

The Standing Committee on Justice, Human Rights, Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness met at 9:05 a.m. this day, in Room 705 La Promenade Building, the Chair, John Maloney, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Garry Breitkreuz, Joe Comartin, Hon. Roy Cullen, Hon. Paul Harold Macklin, John Maloney, Serge Ménard, Anita Neville, Hon. Judy Sgro and Vic Toews.


Acting Members present: Rob Moore for Myron Thompson and Randy White for Mark Warawa.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Laura Barnett, Analyst; Philip Rosen, Principal.


Witnesses: Canadian Professional Police Association: Tony Cannavino, President; David Griffin, Executive Officer. B.C. Civil Liberties Association: Larry Cohen, Member, Board of Directors. Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse: Patricia Begin, Director, Research and Policy; John Weekes, Senior Resarch Analyst. Centre for Addictions and Mental Health: Robert Mann, Senior Scientist.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, November 15, 2004, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-16, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (impaired driving) and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 11:00 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:01 a.m., the sitting resumed in camera.


The Committee proceeded to discuss matters related to its business.


At 11:05 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Diane Diotte
Clerk of the Committee

2005/06/23 3:31 p.m.