Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 46
Thursday, June 16, 2005

The Standing Committee on Justice, Human Rights, Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness met at 9:03 a.m. this day, in Room 269 West Block, the Chair, John Maloney, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Garry Breitkreuz, Joe Comartin, Hon. Paul Harold Macklin, John Maloney, Richard Marceau, Serge Ménard, Anita Neville, Hon. Judy Sgro, Myron Thompson and Mark Warawa.


Acting Members present: Ruby Dhalla for Hon. Judy Sgro, Wajid Khan for Hon. Roy Cullen and Randy White for Vic Toews.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Philip Rosen, Principal; Robin MacKay, Analyst.


Witnesses: Mothers Against Drunk Driving: Andrew Murie, Chief Executive Officer; Robert Solomon, Director, Legal Policy. Canadian Council of Criminal Defence Lawyers: Joseph Di Luca, Representative. Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police: Christopher McNeil, Chair, Drug Abuse Committee. Traffic Injury Research Foundation: Douglas Beirness, Vice-President, Research; Herb M. Simpson, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, November 15, 2004, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-16, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (impaired driving) and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 10:46 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:49 a.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

By unanimous consent, it was agreed, — That the motion adopted on June 14, 2005 concerning the membership of the Subcommittee to study the process for appointments to the federal judiciary be rescinded.


It was agreed, — That, pursuant to Standing Order 108, the Subcommittee be composed of two (2) members of the Liberal Party, two (2) members of the Conservative Party of Canada, two (2) members of the Bloc Québécois and one (1) member of the New Democratic Party, including a Chair from the Bloc Québécois, with the mandate to examine the process for appointments to the federal judiciary and make recommendations for reform, with the primary goal of eliminating political partisanship from the process, and that the Committee report back to the House by October 31, 2005.


It was agreed, — That the Chair present a report to the House requesting that the deadline for the presentation of the Committee’s report to the House respecting the process for appointments to the federal judiciary be extended to December 15, 2005.


At 10:54 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Diane Diotte
Clerk of the Committee

2005/10/28 2:38 p.m.