Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 40
Tuesday, May 17, 2005

The Standing Committee on Justice, Human Rights, Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness met in a televised session at 9:01 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D Centre Block, the Chair, Paul DeVillers, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Garry Breitkreuz, Joe Comartin, Hon. Roy Cullen, Hon. Paul DeVillers, Hon. Paul Harold Macklin, John Maloney, Serge Ménard, Anita Neville, Myron Thompson and Mark Warawa.


Acting Members present: Rob Moore for Vic Toews and Robert Vincent for Richard Marceau.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Philip Rosen, Principal; Robin MacKay, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. Anne McLellan, Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness.


Witnesses: Department of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness: Margaret Bloodworth, Deputy Minister. National Parole Board: Ian Glen, Chairperson. Canada Firearms Centre: William Baker, Commissioner. Correctional Service Canada: Lucie McClung, Commissioner. Royal Canadian Mounted Police: Giuliano Zaccardelli, Commissioner. Canadian Security Intelligence Service: Jim Judd, Director. Canada Border Services Agency: Alain Jolicoeur, President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 81(4), the Committee commenced consideration of the Main Estimates 2005-2006: Votes 1, 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, 50, 60, 65, 70, 75, 80 and 85 under SOLICITOR GENERAL (Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness) and Vote 30 under PRIVY COUNCIL, referred to the Committee on Friday, February 25, 2005.

The Minister made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 11:04 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Diane Diotte
Clerk of the Committee

2005/05/18 10:02 a.m.