Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 25
Tuesday, March 22, 2005

The Standing Committee on Justice, Human Rights, Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness met in a televised session at 9:03 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D Centre Block, the Chair, Paul DeVillers, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Garry Breitkreuz, Joe Comartin, Hon. Roy Cullen, Hon. Paul DeVillers, Hon. Paul Harold Macklin, John Maloney, Richard Marceau, Myron Thompson, Vic Toews and Mark Warawa.


Acting Members present: Serge Ménard for Diane Bourgeois, Rob Moore for Vic Toews and Hon. Denis Paradis for Anita Neville.


Associate Members present: Peter MacKay.


Other Members present: France Bonsant, Paul Crête and Robert Vincent.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Philip Rosen, Principal ; Robin MacKay, Analyst.


Witnesses: Customs Excise Union: Ron Moran, National President; Jean-Pierre Fortin, National Vice-President, Region of Quebec. Quebec RCMP Officers' Association: Gaétan Delisle, President; André Girard, Treasurer. Royal Canadian Mounted Police: Giuliano Zaccardelli, Commissioner; Pierre-Yves Bourduas, Assistant Commissioner, Commanding Officer, "C" Division. National Police Services of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police: Peter D. Martin, Deputy Commissioner. Royal Canadian Mounted Police: Giuliano Zaccardelli, Commissioner.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed its study on the closing of RCMP detachments

It was agreed, — That the brief presented by Customs Excise Union be taken as read and published in today’s Evidence.


Ron Moran and Gaétan Delisle each made a statement and answered questions with the other witnesses of Customs Excise Union and the Quebec RCMP Officers' Association.


At 10:05 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:13 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Giuliano Zaccardelli made a statement and, with Pierre-Yves Bourduas, answered questions.

At 11:16 a.m, pursuant to the Order of Reference of Tuesday, November 2, 2004, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-13, An Act to amend the Criminal Code, the DNA Identification Act and the National Defence Act - (Consideration of DNA Service Requests)

Giuliano Zaccardelli and Peter D. Martin answered questions.


At 11:32 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Diane Diotte
Clerk of the Committee

2005/04/15 1:59 p.m.