Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 12
Tuesday, December 7, 2004

The Standing Committee on Justice, Human Rights, Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness met at 11:01 a.m. this day, in Room 701 La Promenade Building, the Chair, Paul DeVillers, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Garry Breitkreuz, Hon. Roy Cullen, Hon. Paul DeVillers, Hon. Paul Harold Macklin, John Maloney, Vic Toews and Mark Warawa.


Acting Members present: David Christopherson for Joe Comartin, Serge Ménard for Richard Marceau, Rob Moore for Myron Thompson, Denis Paradis for Anita Neville and Robert Vincent for Diane Bourgeois.


Other Members present: France Bonsant, Marc Boulianne, Paul Crête, Yvan Loubier and Massimo Pacetti.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Philip Rosen, Analyst.


Witnesses: City of Granby: Guy Racine, Mayor, Reeve of the MRC Haute-Yamaska and Spokesperson for the Coalition of Mayors. City of Roberval: Gilles Veilleux, Representative. City of Coaticook: André Langevin, Mayor; Serge Gosselin, Municipal Counsel. City of Baie-Comeau: Jean Thériault, Representative. Municipality of Îles-de-la-Madeleine: Claude Vigneault, Mayor. City of Saint-Hyacinthe: Jean-Claude Patenaude, Representative. City Lac-Mégantic: Colette Roy Laroche, Mayor. City of Rivière-du-Loup: Jean D'Amour, Mayor; Johanne St-Pierre, Director of Communications.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee commenced its study on the closing of RCMP detachments.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


Serge Ménard moved the following Notice of Motion:

— That the Committee recommend to the government that the RCMP immediately stop reassigning personnel in Quebec in order to keep the nine detachments in Quebec open, and that it maintain a critical mass of eight officers per detachment.


At 1:02 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Diane Diotte
Clerk of the Committee

2005/03/02 10:18 a.m.