Skip to main content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 36
Tuesday, May 3, 2005

The Standing Committee on Health met at 9:06 a.m. this day, in Room 209 West Block, the Vice-Chair, Rob Merrifield, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bonnie Brown, Colin Carrie, Hon. Brenda Chamberlain, Jean Crowder, Nicole Demers, Ruby Dhalla, Steven John Fletcher, James Lunney, Réal Ménard, Rob Merrifield, Michael John Savage and Hon. Robert Thibault.


Acting Members present: Bernard Bigras for Réal Ménard.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Sonya Norris, Analyst; Nancy Miller Chenier, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Health Food Association: John Holtmann, Chair of the Board, President, J. Holtmann Holdings Inc.; Gilles Houde, Vice Chair of the Board, President, GNC Canada; Valerie Bell, President; Anne Wilkie, Director, Regulatory Affairs and Quality Assurance. Canadian Association of Naturopathic Doctors: Paul Saunders, Naturopathic Doctor, Member of the Government Relations Committee; Shawn O'Reilly, Executive Director, Government Relations. Canadian Treatment Action Council: Tony Di Pede, Treasurer. Alliance of Natural Health Suppliers: Peter Helgason, Vice President, Regulatory Affairs. Canadian Council of Herbalist Associations: Michael Vertolli, President; Gillian Leverkus, Vice President. University of Toronto: Heather Boon, Assistant Professor, Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy. As an Individual: Patrick McDougall. York University: Joel Lexchin, Associate Professor. Biomedica Laboratories Inc.: Jason Watkin, Chief Executive Officer. Optimum Health Choices: John Biggs, Nutritional Consulting Practitioner. Nu-Life Nutrition Ltd.: Lionel Pasen, Director, Regulatory Affairs. Purity Life Health Products Ltd.: David Chapman, President. Creative Nutrition Canada Corp.: David Rowland, Owner. Herb Works: Richard DeSylva, Owner and Operator.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, March 9, 2005, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-420, An Act to amend the Food and Drugs Act.

Valerie Bell, John Holtmann, Gilles Houde, Paul Saunders, Tony Di Pede, Peter Helgason and Michael Vertolli made statements and, with Anne Wilkie, answered questions.


At 10:30 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:39 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Bonnie Brown took the Chair.


Heather Boon, Patrick McDougall, Joel Lexchin and Jason Watkin made statements and answered questions.


At 11:47 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:01 p.m., the sitting resumed.


John Biggs made a statement.


At 12:12 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:55 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Lionel Pasen, David Chapman, David Rowland and Richard DeSylva made statements and, with John Biggs, answered questions.


At 1:49 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Carmen DePape
Clerk of the Committee

2005-05-05 3:38 p.m.