Skip to main content
Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 31
Monday, April 11, 2005

The Standing Committee on Health met in a televised session at 3:35 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C Centre Block, the Chair, Bonnie Brown, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bonnie Brown, Colin Carrie, Hon. Brenda Chamberlain, Jean Crowder, Nicole Demers, Steven John Fletcher, James Lunney, Réal Ménard, Rob Merrifield, Michael John Savage and Hon. Robert Thibault.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Sonya Norris, Analyst; Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Health: Paul Mayers, Acting Director General, Food Directorate, Health Products and Food Branch; Karen L. Dodds, Executive Director, Pest Management Regulatory Agency; Trish MacQuarrie, Director, Alternative Strategies and Regulatory Affairs Division, Pest Management Regulatory Agency; Claudette Dalpé, Associate Director, Food Regulatory Programs and Access to Information, Bureau of Food Regulatory, International and Interagency Affairs, Food Directorate, Health Products and Food Branch. Canadian Health Coalition: Michael McBane, National Coordinator. Canadian Labour Congress: David Bennett, National Director, Health, Safety and Environment Department. As Individuals: Shiv Chopra; Margaret Haydon; Gérard Lambert.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Monday, February 14, 2005, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-28, An Act to amend the Food and Drugs Act.

Paul Mayers, Karen L. Dodds, Michael McBane, David Bennett and Shiv Chopra made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 5:59 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Carmen DePape
Clerk of the Committee

2005-04-12 4:04 p.m.