Skip to main content
Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 25
Wednesday, March 9, 2005

The Standing Committee on Health met at 3:32 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D Centre Block, the Chair, Bonnie Brown, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bonnie Brown, Colin Carrie, Hon. Brenda Chamberlain, Jean Crowder, Nicole Demers, Ruby Dhalla, Steven John Fletcher, James Lunney, Réal Ménard and Michael John Savage.


Acting Members present: Alan Tonks for Hon. Robert Thibault.


Associate Members present: Hon. Rob Nicholson and Paul Szabo.


Other Members present: Roy Cullen.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Nancy Miller Chenier, Analyst; Sonya Norris, Analyst.


Witnesses: Association of Canadian Distillers: Jan Westcott, President and Chief Executive Officer; C.J. Hélie, Executive Vice-President. Brewers Association of Canada: Howard Collins, President; John Sleeman, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Sleeman Breweries Limited; Teresa Cascioli, President and Chief Executive Officer, Lakeport Beverage Corporation. Association des microbrasseries du Québec: Laura Urtnowski, President; Frédérick Tremblay, President, La microbrasserie Charlevoix. Canadian Vintners Association: Vicki Bas, Director of Research; Norman Beal, President and Chief Executive Officer, Peninsula Ridge Estates Winery. Taxiguy Inc.: Justin Raymond, President.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, February 9, 2005, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-206, An Act to amend the Food and Drugs Act (warning labels regarding the consumption of alcohol).

Jan Wescott, John Sleeman, Howard Collins, Teresa Cascioli, Laura Urtnowski, Frédérick Tremblay, Vicki Bas and Justin Raymond made statements and, with Norman Beal, answered questions.


At 5:27 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Carmen DePape
Clerk of the Committee

2005-03-10 2:56 p.m.