Skip to main content
Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 24
Monday, March 7, 2005

The Standing Committee on Health met in a televised session at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D Centre Block, the Chair, Bonnie Brown, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bonnie Brown, Colin Carrie, Jean Crowder, Nicole Demers, Ruby Dhalla, Steven John Fletcher, James Lunney, Réal Ménard, Rob Merrifield, Michael John Savage and Hon. Robert Thibault.


Witnesses: Office of the Auditor General of Canada: Sheila Fraser, Auditor General of Canada; Frank Barrett, Director. Department of Health: Ian Potter, Assistant Deputy Minister, First Nations and Inuit Health Branch; Leslie MacLean, Director General, Non-Insured Health Benefits Directorate, First Nations and Inuit Health Branch. Department of Citizenship and Immigration: Lyse Ricard, Assistant Deputy Minister, Operations; Sylvie Martin, Director, Strategies and Policies, Medical Services Branch. Department of Veterans Affairs: Verna Bruce, Associate Deputy Minister; Ron Herbert, Director General, National Operations Division. Department of National Defence: MGen Lise Mathieu, Commander, Canadian Forces Health Services Group and Director General; LCol Regis Vaillancourt, Pharmacy Policy and Standards.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, October 21, 2004, the Committee resumed its study of the Report of the Auditor General of Canada (Chapter 4: Management of Federal Drug Benefit Programs).

Lyse Ricard, Verna Bruce and MGen Lise Mathieu made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 4:58 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Carmen DePape
Clerk of the Committee

2005-03-08 3:51 p.m.