Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 93
Monday, October 17, 2005

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 9:08 a.m. this day, at the Hyatt Regency, Plaza B & C, Vancouver, British Columbia, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Rona Ambrose, Don H. Bell, Massimo Pacetti and Charlie Penson.


Acting Members present: Robert Bouchard for Guy Côté and Jean Crowder for Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Sheena Starky, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Christine Lafrance, Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Greater Vancouver Alliance for Arts and Culture: Heather Redfern, Executive Director. Forest Products Association of Canada: Avrim Lazar, President and Chief Executive Officer; Jim Shepherd, Board Member, President and Chief Executive Officer, Canfor. Keatley Films Limited: Julia Keatley, Executive Producer; Trish Dolman, President and Producer, Screen Siren Pictures Inc. Pacific Baroque Orchestra: Tom Durrie, General Manager. Union of B.C. Performers: Mercedes Watson, Chief Executive Officer, ACTRA - Brtish Columbia; Thom Tapley, Director, Operations and Communications - Film, Television and Digital Media, ACTRA - British Columbia.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2005.

Heather Redfern, Avrim Lazar, Jim Shepherd, Julia Keatley, Trish Dolman, Tom Durrie and Mercedes Watson made statements and, with Thom Tapley, answered questions.


At 10:33 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis
Clerk of the Committee

2005/11/07 4:38 p.m.