Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 92
Thursday, October 6, 2005

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 5:14 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Rona Ambrose, Charles Hubbard, Massimo Pacetti and Charlie Penson.


Acting Members present: Navdeep Bains for Hon. John McKay, Joe Comartin for Judy Wasylycia-Leis and Hon. Roy Cullen for Don H. Bell.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Sheena Starky, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Christine Lafrance, Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Association of Canadian Travel Agencies: Jean Colette, Council Member; Chistiane Théberge, Vice-President , Public Affairs. Canadian Chamber of Commerce: Nancy Hughes Anthony, President and Chief Executive Officer; Michael Murphy, Senior Vice-President, Policy. Hotel Association of Canada: Anthony P. Pollard, President. Railway Association of Canada: Chris Jones, Director, Federal and Provincial Government Liaison, Public Affairs and Government Relations; Sab Meffe, Assistant Vice-President, Taxation. Tourism Industry Association of Canada: Jennifer Demers, Director, Government Relations. Mining Association of Canada: Gordon Peeling, President and Chief Executive Officer; Dan Paszkowski, Vice-President, Economic Affairs. Canadian Coalition for Global Health Research: Amir Attaran, Member, Canada Research Chair in Law, Population Health and Global Development Policy.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2005.

Jean Colette, Nancy Hugues Anthony, Anthony P. Pollard, Chris Jones, Jennifer Demers, Gordon Peeling and Amir Attaran made statements and, with Sab Meffe and Michael Murphy, answered questions.


At 7:05 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis
Clerk of the Committee

2005/11/07 4:36 p.m.