Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 91
Thursday, October 6, 2005

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:32 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Rona Ambrose, Don H. Bell, Charles Hubbard, Yvan Loubier, Hon. John McKay, Massimo Pacetti and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Paule Brunelle for Yvan Loubier, Susan Kadis for Hon. Maria Minna and Rob Merrifield for Charlie Penson.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Sheena Starky, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Richard Dupuis, Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Association of Canadian Academic Healthcare Organizations: Glenn Brimacombe, Chief Executive Officer; Bernie Bressler, Co-Chair, Health Research Committee, Vice-President of Research, Assistant Dean Research. Canadian AIDS Society: Paul Lapierre, Executive Director; Mark Creighan, Media Relations Officer. Canadian Dental Association: Jack Cottrell, President; Andrew Jones, Director, Corporate and Government Relations. Canadian Healthcare Association: Sharon Sholzberg-Gray, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Mental Health Association: Penelope Marrett, Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Paediatric Society: C. Robin Walker, Past President.


It was agreed, — That, pursuant to S. O. 97.1 (3)(a), the Committee request, from the House, an extension of 30 sitting for Bill C-285.


It was agreed, — That, pursuant to S.O. 97.1(3)(a), the Committee request, from the House, an extension of 30 sitting days for Bill C-265.


It was agreed, — That the Committee adopt the pre-budget consultations 2005 operational budget of $48,900.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2005.

Glenn Brimacombe, Bernie Bressler, Paul Lapierre, Jack Cottrell, Sharon Sholzberg-Gray, Penelope Marrett and C. Robin Walker made statements and answered questions.


At 5:04 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee

2005/11/07 4:35 p.m.