Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 84
Tuesday, October 4, 2005

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 11:15 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Rona Ambrose, Don H. Bell, Charles Hubbard, Yvan Loubier, Hon. John McKay and Massimo Pacetti.


Acting Members present: Colin Carrie for Charlie Penson, Gary Goodyear for Monte Solberg, Richard Harris for Brian Pallister, Peter Julian for Judy Wasylycia-Leis, Todd Norman Russell for Charles Hubbard and Lui Temelkovski for Hon. Maria Minna.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Christine Lafrance, Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Canada's Research-Based Pharmaceutical Companies (Rx&D): Russell Williams, President; Terry McCool, Vice-President, Corporate Affairs, Eli Lilly Canada Inc.. Canadian Chemical Producers' Association: Richard Paton, President and Chief Executive Officer; David F. Podruzny, Senior Manager, Business and Economics. Canadian Construction Association: Michael Atkinson, President. Canadian Federation of Agriculture: Marvin Shauf, Vice-President; Justin To, Analyst, Farm Policy; Pierre Gauvreau, Chief Executive Officer, La Coop fédérée. Canadian Home Builders' Association: David Wassmansdorf, President; John Kenward, Chief Operating Officer. Canadian Steel Producers Association: Barry Lacombe, President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2005.

Russell Williams, Terry McCool, Richard Paton, Michael Atkinson, Marvin Shauf, David Wassmansdorf and Barry Lacombe made statements and, with David F. Podruzny and Pierre Gauvreau, answered questions.


Gary Goodyear moved, — That his 48 hour motion be considered now.


The Chair ruled that the time was not appropriate to deal with the motion.


Whereupon, Gary Goodyear appealed the decision of the Chair.

The question: "Shall the decision of the Chair be sustained?" was put and the decision was overturned, by a show of hands: YEAS: 3; NAYS: 6.


Pursuant to the 48 hour motion notice agreed on Tuesday, October 12, 2004:


Gary Goodyear moved, — 1) That the committee call on the Minister of National Revenue to repeal the Notice of Assessments refusing to reimburse the GST claims of the Quebec and Ontario school boards and that the Minister of National Revenue issue the total amount of GST reimbursements to the school boards, which have been granted by final judgments from the Canadian Taxation Court and consented to by the Crown, representing approximately $8 M in one case and $10 M, in the other.

2) That the committee call on the federal Minister of Finance to repeal the retroactive amendment to the Excise Tax Act which permits the Minister of National Revenue to reassess school boards and claim reimbursements of any money paid in conformity with any judgment which may have been rendered after 21 December 2001 (such as the final judgments rendered by the Tax Court of Canada on 29 January 2003)



The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division: YEAS: Rona Ambrose, Colin Carrie, Gary Goodyear, Richard Harris, Peter Julian, Yvan Loubier — 6; NAYS: Don H. Bell, John McKay, Todd Norman Russell, Lui Temelkovski — 4.


At 12:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis
Clerk of the Committee



2005/11/07 4:18 p.m.