Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 79
Wednesday, September 28, 2005

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:41 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Rona Ambrose, Hon. Charles Hubbard, Yvan Loubier, John McKay, Hon. Maria Minna, Massimo Pacetti, Charlie Penson and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Robert Bouchard for Guy Côté and Gary Goodyear for Monte Solberg.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Jean Dupuis, Analyst; Sheena Starky, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Christine Lafrance, Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Canadian Council on Social Development: Peter Bleyer, President. Conference Board of Canada: Glen Hodgson, Vice-President and Chief Economist; Matthew Stewart, Senior Economist. Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives: Ellen Russell, Economist. The Fraser Institute: Niels Veldhuis, Senior Research Economist. Conseil du patronat du Québec: Gilles Taillon, President.

Gary Goodyear gave a 48 hour notice of the following motion:

1) That the Committee call on the Minister of National Revenue to repeal the Notice of Assessment refusing to reimburse the GST claims of the Quebec and Ontario school boards and that the Minister of National Revenue issue the total amount of GST reimbursements to the school boards, which have been granted by final judgements from the Canadian Taxation Court and consented to by the Crown, representing approximately $8 M in one case and $10 M, in the other.

2) That the Committee call on the federal Minister of Finance to repeal the retroactive amendment to the Excise Tax Act which permits the Minister of National Revenue to reassess school boards and claim reimbursements of any money paid in conformity with any judgment which may have been rendered after December 2001 (such as the final judgments rendered by the Tax Court of Canada on 29 January 2003)

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee commenced its pre-budget consultations 2005.

Peter Bleyer, Glen Hodgson, Ellen Russell, Neils Veldhuis and Gilles Taillon made statements and answered questions.


At 5:31 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis
Clerk of the Committee

2005/11/07 4:10 p.m.