Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 72
Monday, June 13, 2005

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 11:09 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C Centre Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Rona Ambrose, Don H. Bell, Guy Côté, Charles Hubbard, Hon. John McKay, Hon. Maria Minna, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister, Monte Solberg and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Ken Epp for Charlie Penson, Susan Kadis for Charles Hubbard and Pierre A. Paquette for Yvan Loubier.


Other Members present: Susan Kadis.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Sheena Starky, Analyst.


Witnesses: Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada: Robert Best, Vice President, National Affairs Branch; Claire Morris, President and CEO. Canadian Housing and Renewal Association: Sharon Chisholm, Executive Director; Joyce Potter, President. Assembly of First Nations: Richard Jock, Executive Director. Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat: John Morgan, Acting Assistant Comptroller General, Financial Management and Analysis Sector; Charles-Antoine St-Jean, Comptroller General, Comptroller General's Office. Canadian Chamber of Commerce: Michael Murphy, Senior Vice President, Policy. C.D. Howe Institute: William B.P. Robson, Senior Vice President, Director of Research. Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives: Ellen Russell, Economist. Canadian Federation of Students: George Soule, National Chairperson. Canadian Taxpayers Federation: John Williamson, Federal Director. Co-operative Housing Federation of Canada: Christopher Wilson, Senior Public Relations Officer . Canadian Alliance of Student Associations: Toby White, Government Relations Officer; Ian Boyko, Government Relations Coordinator, Canadian Federation of Students. Front d'action populaire en réaménagement urbain: André Brunet; François Roy, Coordinator, Logement'occupe.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, May 19, 2005, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-48, An Act to authorize the Minister of Finance to make certain payments.

George Soule, Christopher Wilson, Toby White, Joyce Potter, François Roy and William B.P. Robson made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 12:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:41 p.m., the sitting resumed.


John Williamson, Richard Jock, Ellen Russell, Michael Murphy, Claire Morris and Charles-Antoine St-Jean made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 2:06 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Marc-Olivier Girard
Committee Clerk

2005/06/14 11:35 a.m.