Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 6
Wednesday, October 27, 2004

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:33 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D Centre Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Don H. Bell, Guy Côté, Charles Hubbard, John McKay, Maria Minna, Massimo Pacetti, Charlie Penson, Monte Solberg and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Réal Lapierre for Yvan Loubier.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Council on Social Development: John Anderson, Vice-President, Strategic Partnership and Alliances. Conference Board of Canada: Charles Barrett, Senior Vice-President, Program Strategy and Delivery; Glen Hodgson, Vice-President and Chief Economist. C.D. Howe Institute: Jack Mintz, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives: Ellen Russell, Senior Research Fellow. Caledon Institute of Social Policy: Sherri Torjman, Vice-President. The Fraser Institute: Niels Veldhuis, Senior Research Economist. Canadian Taxpayers Federation: Bruce Winchester, Research Director.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee commenced its pre-budget consultations 2004.



Charles Barrett, Glen Hodgson, Niels Velkhuis, Bruce Winchester, Ellen Russell, Sherri Torjman, Jack Mintz and John Anderson made statements and, with Armine Yalnizyan, answered questions.


At 5:35 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis
Clerk of the Committee

2005/03/15 10:54 a.m.