Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 26
Thursday, November 25, 2004

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D Centre Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Guy Côté, Charles Hubbard, Yvan Loubier, John McKay, Maria Minna, Massimo Pacetti and Charlie Penson.


Acting Members present: Bill Blaikie for Judy Wasylycia-Leis and Jack Layton for Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Associate Members present: Roy Cullen.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal.


Witnesses: Canadian Taxpayers Federation: John Williamson, Federal Director. Canadian Professional Sales Association: Terry Ruffell, President. Canadian Advanced Technology Alliance: David E. Paterson, National Director. Space Industry Executives: Magued Iskander, Vice-President and General Manager, MD Robotics; John Keating, Chief Executive Officer, COM-DEV International Ltd.. Canadian Council of Professional Engineers: Marie Lemay, Chief Executive Officer. Information Technology Association of Canada: Bernard A. Courtois, President & CEO. Toronto Board of Trade: Cecil Bradley, Director of Policy; Robert Hutchison, Vice-Chair and Honorary Treasurer , Toronto Board of Trade. Ottawa Centre for Research and Innovation: Jeffrey Dale, President & CEO; Blair Patacairk, Director Investment, Marketing Media, Government Relations, Ottawa Global Marketing. Multiple Sclerosis Society of Canada: Deanna Groetzinger, Vice-President, Communications. Council for Health Research in Canada: Deborah Gordon-El-Bihbety, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Mental Health Association: Robert Campbell, Vice-President, National Board; Penelope Marrett, Chief Executive Officer. Chronic Disease Prevention Alliance of Canada: Bonnie Hostrawser, Executive Director; Patricia Pelton, Steering Committee. Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada: Cleve Myers, Chair; Stephen Samis, Director, Health Policy. Canadian Diabetes Association: Christine Flammer, Associate Director , Office of Public Policy & Government Relations; Karen Philp, Director, Policy and Government Relations. Paramedic Association of Canada & Ambulance Paramedics of British Columbia: Ernie Mothus, Committee member, Paramedic Association of Canada; Poirier Pierre, Deputy Chief Ottawa EMS, CEO of the Paramedic Association of Canada.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2004.



John Williamson, Terry Ruffel, David E. Paterson, John Keating, Marie Lemay, Bernard Courtois, Robert Hutchison and Jeffrey Dale made statements and, with Magued Iskander, Cecil Bradley and Blair Patacairk, answered questions.


At 5:03 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:12 p.m., the sitting resumed.




Deanna Groetzinger, Deborah Gordon-El-Bihbety, Robert Campbell, Patricia Pelton, Cleve Myers, Karen Philp and Ernie Mothus made statements and, with Bonnie Hostrawser and Stephen Samis, answered questions.


At 6:42 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jacques Lahaie
Committee Clerk

2005/03/15 11:59 a.m.