Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 25
Thursday, November 25, 2004

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 9:35 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D Centre Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Guy Côté, Charles Hubbard, Yvan Loubier, John McKay, Maria Minna, Massimo Pacetti, Charlie Penson, Monte Solberg and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Bankers Association: Kelly Shaughnessy, Vice-President, Banking Operations; Raymond J. Protti, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Association of Mutual Insurance Companies: Normand Lafrenière, President. Certified General Accountants' Association of Canada: Everett E. Colby, Chair, FCGA; Carole Presseault, Assistant Vice-President , Government & Regulatory Affairs. Canadian Co-operative Association: Dave Sitaram, President; Jean-Yves Lord, Executive Director. VenGrowth: Jay Heller, General Partner. Tax Executives Institute, Inc.: David M. Penney, General Director, Taxes and Customs, General Motors of Canada Limited; Jeffery P. Rasmussen, Tax Counsel, Tax Executives Institute. Credit Union Central of Canada: Wayne A. Nygren, Chair, Legislative Affairs Committee; Jack Smit, Chairperson, Board of Directors. Registered Education Savings Plan Dealers Association of Canada: Paul Renaud, Chairman. Investment Dealers Association of Canada: Joe Oliver, President and Chief Executive Officer. Multi Employer Benefit Plan Council of Canada: Peter Landry, Consultant. Certified Management Accountants of Canada: David Fletcher, Vice-President, Public Affairs; Michael Tinkler, Chairman of Audit Committee, Member of the Board of Directors. Association of Canadian Pension Management: Scott Perkin, President; Stephen Bigsby, Executive Director. Investment Funds Institute of Canada: Thomas Hockin, President and CEO; Jamie Golombek, Vice-President , Taxation and Estate Planning.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2004.



Raymond J. Protti, Normand Lafrenière, Everett E. Colby, Dave Sitaram, Jean-Yves Lord, Jay Heller, David Penney and Jack Smit made statements and answered questions.


At 11:09 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:20 a.m., the sitting resumed.




Paul Renaud, Joe Oliver, Peter Landry, Michael Tinkler, Scott Perkin and Thomas Hockin made statements and answered questions.


At 12:46 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis
Clerk of the Committee

2005/03/15 11:55 a.m.