Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 20
Monday, November 22, 2004

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:37 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D Centre Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Don H. Bell, Charles Hubbard, Yvan Loubier, John McKay, Maria Minna, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister and Charlie Penson.


Acting Members present: David Christopherson for Judy Wasylycia-Leis, Bernard Cleary for Guy Côté, Bev Desjarlais for Judy Wasylycia-Leis and Christian Simard for Guy Côté.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst.


Witnesses: Association of Yukon Communities: Doug Graham, President; Tom Paterson, Executive Director. Nunavut Association of Municipalities: Lootie Toomasie, Vice-President; Lynda Gunn, Chief Executive Officer. Newfoundland and Labrador Federation of Municipalities: Herbert Brett, President. Canadian Steel Producers Association: Barry Lacombe, President. Retail Council of Canada: Diane J. Brisebois, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Automobile Dealers Association: Richard Gauthier, President. Canadian Housing and Renewal Association: Joyce Potter, President. Canadian Restaurant and Foodservices Association: Joyce Reynolds, Senior Vice President, Government Affairs. Canadian Hardware and Housewares Manufacturers Association & Canadian Retail Building Supply Council: Dave Campbell, President, Government Relations Committee, Canadian Retail Building Supply Council. Association of Consulting Engineers of Canada: Claude Paul Boivin, President & Chief Operating Officer; Allen Williams, Chairman , Board of Directors.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2004.



Doug Graham, Lynda Gunn and Herbert Brett made statements and answered questions.


At 5:40 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:00 p.m., the sitting resumed.




Barry Lacombe, Diane J. Brisebois, Richard Gauthier, Joyce Potter, Joyce Reynolds, Dave Campbell, Claude Paul Boivin and Allen Williams made statements and answered questions.


At 6:26 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis
Clerk of the Committee

2005/03/15 11:22 a.m.