Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 17
Thursday, November 18, 2004

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 9:35 a.m. this day, in Room 371 West Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Don H. Bell, Guy Côté, Yvan Loubier, John McKay, Maria Minna, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister, Monte Solberg and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Medical Association: Albert Schumacher, President; William Tholl, Secretary General and CEO. Canadian Public Health Association: Christina Mills, President. Canadian Health Coalition: Michael McBane, National Co-ordinator. Canadian Nurses Association: Deborah Tamlyn, President; Lisa Little, Health Human Resources Consultant . Canadian Paediatric Society: Robin Walker, President . Canadian Healthcare Association: Sharon Sholzberg-Gray, President and Chief Executive Officer; Mary Lapaine, Board Chair. Canadian Dental Association: Alfred Dean, President; Andrew Jones, Director, Corporate and Government Relations. Canadian Dental Hygienists Association: Susan A. Ziebarth, Executive Director; Judy Lux, Communications Specialist, Health Policy. Sport Matters Group: Victor Lachance, Senior Leader; Timothy Page, Executive Director, Diving Canada. Canadian National Institute for the Blind: Cathy Moore, National Director , Consumer and Government Relations. Canadian AIDS Society: Paul Lapierre, Executive Director; Mark Creighan, Media Relations Officer. Canadian Cancer Society: Kenneth Kyle, Director, Public Issues; Jo Kennelly, Director, Scientific Advancement and Public Policy. Canadian Public Health Association: Elinor Wilson, Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Coalition on Public Health in the 21st Century: Maureen Law, Consultant to the World Bank.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2004.



Dr. Albert Schumacher, Dr. Elinor Wilson, Michael McBane, Robin Walker, Sharon Sholzberg-Gray and Mary Lapaine made statements and, with William Tholl, answered questions.


At 11:06 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:14 a.m., the sitting resumed.




Dr. Alfred Dean, Suzan A. Ziebarth, Victor Lachance, Timothy I. Page, Cathy Moore, Paul Lapierre, Kenneth Kyle and Maureen Law made statements and answered questions.


At 12:42 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis
Clerk of the Committee

2005/03/15 11:10 a.m.