Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 148
Tuesday, November 15, 2005

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 3:35 p.m. this day, in Room 308, West Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Rona Ambrose, Françoise Boivin, Robert Bouchard, Mark Holland, Yvan Loubier, Hon. John McKay, Hon. Maria Minna, Massimo Pacetti, Charlie Penson and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Sheena Starky, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Richard Dupuis, Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada: Heather H. Black, Assistant Privacy Commissioner. Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association Inc.: Gregory Traversy, President; Simon Curtis, Executive Vice-President and Chief Actuary, Manulife Financial; Frank Zinatelli, Vice-President and Associate General Counsel. Canadian Bankers Association: Warren Law, Senior Vice-President, Corporate Operations and General Counsel. Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants: Kevin Dancey, Representative, Liability Reform Task Force; Scott Allinson, Manager, Government Relations.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Thursday, October 6, 2005, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-57, An Act to amend certain Acts in relation to financial institutions.

Heather H. Black, Gregory Traversy, Simon Curtis, Warren Law and Kevin Dancey made statements and answered questions.


At 5:18 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee

2005/11/16 10:15 a.m.