Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 142
Thursday, November 3, 2005

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 3:44 p.m. this day, at the Intercontinental Hotel, Willard Room, Toronto, Ontario, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Maria Minna, Massimo Pacetti, Charlie Penson, Monte Solberg and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Printing Industries Association: Bob Elliott, President; Bob Kadis, Chair, Government Affairs Committee. Canadian Retail Building Supply Council: David Campbell, President, Canadian Lumber and Building Materials Association of Ontario. Insurance Bureau of Canada: Stanley I. Griffin, President and Chief Executive Officer; Dennis Prouse, Director, Government Relations. Investment Dealers Association of Canada: Joseph J. Oliver, President and Chief Executive Officer. RESP Dealers Association of Canada: Paul Renaud, Chair, Vice-President, Corporate Affairs, USC Education Savings Plan Inc.; Peter Lewis, Chair, Government Relations, Vice-President, Plan Administration, C.S.T. Consultants Inc.. Toronto Financial Services Alliance: Brian Ashton, Co-Chair, Councillor, City of Toronto; Janet Ecker, Executive Director. Escarpment Biosphere Conservancy: Robert Barnett, Executive Director and Chair, Government Relations Committee, Ontario Land Trust Alliance.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2005.

Bob Elliott, Bob Kadis, David Campbell, Stanley I. Griffin, Joseph J. Oliver, Paul Renaud, Brian Ashton, Janett Ecker and Robert Barnett made statements and, with Peter Lewis, answered questions.


At 5:26 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee

2005/11/04 1:30 p.m.