Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 139
Thursday, November 3, 2005

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 10:17 a.m. this day, at the Intercontinental Hotel, Willard Room, Toronto, Ontario, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Yvan Loubier, Hon. Maria Minna, Massimo Pacetti, Charlie Penson, Monte Solberg and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Christine Lafrance, Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Co-operators Group: Kathy Bardswick, President and Chief Executive Officer; Frank Lowery, Vice-President, General Counsel and Secretary. GrowthWorks WV Management Ltd: David Levi, President and Chief Executive Officer. KAIROS (Canadian Ecumenical Justice Initiatives): Mike Hogeterp, Coordinator, Research and Communications, Committee for Contact with the Government, Christian Reformed Church in Canada; Michael Polanyi, Coordinator, Canadian Social Development Program. Metro Toronto Chinese and Southeast Asian Legal Clinic: Avvy Yao-Yao Go, Director. National Housing and Homelessness Network: Michael Shapcott, Co-Chair, National Housing and Homelessness Network; Rainer Driemeyer, Member, Disaster Relief, Toronto. Prospectors and Developers Association of Canada: Peter Dimmell, President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2005.

Kathy Bardswick, David Levi, Mike Hogeterp, Michael Polanyi, Avvy Yao-Yao Go, Michael Shapcott, Rainer Driemeyer and Peter Dimmell made statements and, with Frank Lowery, answered questions.


At 11:47 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis
Clerk of the Committee

2005/11/10 9:55 a.m.