Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 138
Thursday, November 3, 2005

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 8:34 a.m. this day, at the Intercontinental Hotel, Willard Room, Toronto, Ontario, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Yvan Loubier, Hon. Maria Minna, Massimo Pacetti, Charlie Penson, Monte Solberg and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Christine Lafrance, Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Association of Canadian Pension Management: Scott Perkin, President. Duty-Free Shops: André Bergeron, Executive Director, Canadian Association of Airport Duty Free Stores; Chuck Loewen, Past Chair, Board of Directors, Frontier Duty Free Association. BIOTECanada: Peter Brenders, President and Chief Executive Officer; Tony Cruz, Chief Executive Officer, Transition Therapeutics. Family Service Association of Toronto: Michele Lupa, Coordinator, Growing Up Healthy Downtown; Farah Montadher, Program Participant, Growing Up Healthy Downtown. Ontario Council of Agencies Serving Immigrants: Amy Casipullai, Coordinator, Policy and Public Education. Canadian Association of Food Banks: Charles Seiden, Executive Director. Canadian Federation of Students: Jesse Greener, Chairperson, Ontario; Pam Frache, Coordinator, Ontario Campaigns and Government Relations.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2005.

Scott Perkin, André Bergeron, Chuck Loewen, Peter Brenders, Tony Cruz, Michele Lupa, Farah Montadher, Amy Casipullai, Charles Seiden and Jesse Greener made statements and, with Pam Frache, answered questions.


At 10:09 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis
Clerk of the Committee

2005/11/09 10:35 a.m.