Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 137
Wednesday, November 2, 2005

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 3:42 p.m. this day, at the Intercontinental Hotel, Willard Room, Toronto, Ontario, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Yvan Loubier, Massimo Pacetti and Charlie Penson.


Acting Members present: Charlie Angus for Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Richard Dupuis, Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Amalgamated Transit Union - Canadian Council: Kenneth Foster, Canadian Director; Christopher Byford, Director, Research and Communications. Export Development Canada: Stephen Poloz, Senior Vice-President and Chief Economist, Corporate Affairs. Ontario CAPC/CPNP Coalition of Projects: Brenda Anne Clarke, Chair. Retail Council of Canada: Diane J. Brisebois, President and Chief Executive Officer. Toronto Board of Trade: Robert Hutchison, Chair; Glen Grunwald, President and Chief Executive Officer. Toronto Real Estate Board: Michael Collins, Member, Government Relations Committee; Tim Lee, Chair, Government Relations Committee, Ontario Real Estate Association.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2005.

Kenneth Foster, Stephen Poloz, Brenda Anne Clarke, Diane J. Brisebois, Robert Hutchison, Glen Grunwald, Michael Collins and Tim Lee made statements and, with Christopher Byford, answered questions.


At 4:59 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee

2005/11/09 10:29 a.m.