Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 136
Wednesday, November 2, 2005

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 2:03 p.m. this day, at the Intercontinental Hotel, Willard Room, Toronto, Ontario, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Holland, Yvan Loubier, Massimo Pacetti and Charlie Penson.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Christine Lafrance, Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation of Canada: Ronald F. Forbes, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs: Patrick Burke, Fire Chief, Niagara Falls; Donald F. Warden, Fire Chief, Wasaga Beach. Canadian Association of Physicians for the Environment: Kapil Khatter, Excutive Director; Loren Vanderlinden, Supervisor, Environmental Health Assessment and Policy. Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants: Nigel Byars, Executive Vice-President; Scott Allinson, Manager, Government Relations and Communications. Writers' Union of Canada: Ron Brown, First Vice-Chair; Deborah Windsor, Executive Director. Orchestras Canada: Katherine Carleton, Executive Director. YWCA Canada: Elizabeth Bourns, President. Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation of Canada: Ronald F. Forbes, President and Chief Executive Officer.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2005.

Donald F. Warden, Patrick Burke, Kapil Khatter, Loren Vanderlinden, Nigel Byars, Ron Brown, Katherine Carleton, Elizabeth Bourns and Ronald F. Forbes made statements and answered questions.


At 3:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis
Clerk of the Committee

2005/11/09 10:25 a.m.