Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 135
Wednesday, November 2, 2005

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 11:35 a.m. this day, at the Intercontinental Hotel, Willard Room, Toronto, Ontario, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Mark Holland, Yvan Loubier, Massimo Pacetti, Charlie Penson and Monte Solberg.


Acting Members present: Charlie Angus for Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Richard Dupuis, Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Breakthrough Films and Television Inc.: Ira Levy, Executive Producer. Savi Media Inc.: Alexandra Raffé, President. American Federation of Musicians of the United States and Canada: Paul Sharpe, Director, Freelance Services Division; Raymond Koskie, Consultant, Raymond Koskie Consulting. National Anti-Racism Council of Canada: Estella Muyinda, Executive Director. Directors Guild of Canada: Monique Twigg, Manager, National Research and Policy. Friends of Canadian Broadcasting: Ian Morrison, Spokesperson. Writers Guild of Canada: Gail Martiri, Director of Policy; Barb Farwell, Director, Communications.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2005.

Ira Levy, Alexandra Raffé, Paul Sharpe, Estella Muyinda, Monique Twigg, Ian Morrison and Gail Martiri made statements and, with Raymond Koskie, answered questions.


At 1:04 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee

2005/11/09 10:24 a.m.