Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 122
Thursday, October 27, 2005

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:34 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Françoise Boivin, Mark Holland, Massimo Pacetti, Charlie Penson and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Roger Clavet for Robert Bouchard and Odina Desrochers for Yvan Loubier.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Richard Dupuis, Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Association of Canadian Community Colleges: Gerald Brown, President. Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada: Claire Morris, President and Chief Executive Officer; Bonnie Patterson, Chair, Board of Directors, President of Trent University. Canada Foundation for Innovation: Eliot A. Phillipson, President and Chief Executive Officer; Carmen Charette, Senior Vice-President. Coalition for Canadian Astronomy: Michael Jolliffe, Co-Chair, Industry and Vice-President, Government Relations and Communications, AMEC; Gretchen Harris, Co-Chair, Canadian Astronomical Society and Associate Professor, University of Waterloo. Genome Canada: Martin Godbout, President and Chief Executive Officer. Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada: Nigel Lloyd, Executive Vice-President and Chief Operating Officer. Ottawa Centre for Research and Innovation: Jeffrey Dale, President and Chief Executive Officer; Blair Patacairk, Director, Investment, Marketing, Media and Government Relations.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2005.

Gerald Brown, Claire Morris, Bonnie Patterson, Eliot A. Phillipson, Michael Jolliffe, Gretchen Harris, Martin Godbout, Nigel Lloyd and Jeffrey Dale made statements and answered questions.


At 4:58 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee

2005/11/08 10:03 a.m.