Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 120
Thursday, October 27, 2005

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 9:36 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Françoise Boivin, Robert Bouchard, Mark Holland, Yvan Loubier, Hon. John McKay, Hon. Maria Minna, Massimo Pacetti, Charlie Penson and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Nathan Cullen for Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst; Sheena Starky, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Richard Dupuis, Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Canadian Housing and Renewal Association: Sharon Chisholm, Executive Director. Movement for Canadian Literacy: Debbie Griffith, President; Carey Rigby-Wilcox, Spokesperson, Learner Advisory Network. National Council of Welfare: John Murphy, Chair; Laurie Kilpatrick, Acting Director, Strategic Management and Services, Social Development Canada. National Organization of Immigrant and Visible Minority Women of Canada: Anuradha Bose, Executive Director. Statistics Canada: John R. Baldwin, Director, Microeconomic Studies and Analysis. Grape Growers of Ontario: Debbie Zimmerman, Chief Executive Officer, Canadian Horticultural Council. Canadian Vintners Association: Norman Beal, Chair, Board of Directors, Wine Council of Ontario.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2005.

Sharon Chisholm, Debbie Griffith, Carey Rigby-Wilcox, John Murphy, Anaradha Bose, John R. Baldwin, Debbie Zimmerman and Norman Beal made statements and answered questions.


At 11:15 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee

2005/11/08 10:00 a.m.