Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 118
Wednesday, October 26, 2005

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:37 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Rona Ambrose, Françoise Boivin, Robert Bouchard, Mark Holland, Hon. John McKay, Hon. Maria Minna, Massimo Pacetti, Charlie Penson, Monte Solberg and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Wajid Khan for Mark Holland and Lloyd St. Amand for Hon. John McKay.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Alexandre Laurin, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Richard Dupuis, Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Canadian Union of Public Employees: Paul Moist, National President; Toby Sanger, Senior Economist, National Services Department. Canadian Cancer Society: Jo Kennelly, Director, Scientific Advancement and Public Policy, National Cancer Institute of Canada. Canadian Diabetes Association: Karen Philp, National Director, Public Policy and Government Relations. Canadian Institutes of Health Research: Alan Bernstein, President. Chronic Disease Prevention Alliance of Canada: Jean Harvey, Interim Executive Director. Health Charities Coalition of Canada: Peter Hoult, Member, Steering Committee. Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada: Cleve Myers, Chair; Sally Brown, Chief Executive Officer.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2005.

Paul Moist, Jo Kennelly, Karen Philp, Alan Bernstein, Jean Harvey, Peter Hoult and Cleve Myers made statements and, with Toby Sanger, answered questions.


At 5:18 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee

2005/11/08 9:06 a.m.