Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 116
Tuesday, October 25, 2005

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 11:21 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Françoise Boivin, Robert Bouchard, Hon. Maria Minna, Massimo Pacetti, Charlie Penson and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Richard Dupuis, Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Salvation Army: Glen Shepherd, Colonel, Chief Secretary; Mary Ellen Eberlin, Secretary, Territorial Social Services. Campaign 2000: Laurel Rothman, National Coordinator. Canadian Teachers' Federation: Harvey Weiner, Policy Advisor, Government and External Relations. Coalition for Women's Equality: Lise Martin, Executive Director, Canadian Research Institute for the Advancement of Women; Nancy Peckford, Program Director, Canadian Feminist Alliance for International Action; Bonnie Diamond, Executive Director. Co-operative Housing Federation of Canada: René Daoust, President; Christopher Wilson, Senior Public Relations Officer. Polaris Institute: Steven Staples, Director, Security Programs. United Way of Canada: Al Hatton, President and Chief Exective Officer.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2005.

Glen Shepherd, Laurel Rothman, Harvey Weiner, Lise Martin, Nancy Peckford, René Daoust, Steven Staples and Al Hatton made statements and, with Bonnie Diamond, answered questions.


At 12:53 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee

2005/11/08 9:00 a.m.