Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 115
Tuesday, October 25, 2005

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 9:43 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Françoise Boivin, Robert Bouchard, Hon. Maria Minna, Massimo Pacetti, Brian Pallister, Charlie Penson and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Ken Boshcoff for Hon. John McKay and Gary Lunn for Rona Ambrose.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Richard Dupuis, Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Business Tax Reform Coalition: David F. Podruzny, Senior Manager, Business and Economics, Canadian Chemical Producers' Association; Barry Lacombe, President, Canadian Steel Producers' Association. Canadian Bankers Association: Kelly Shaughnessy, Vice-President, Banking Operations; Bradley Rowse, President, Taxation Specialist Group, Senior Vice-President, Taxation, The Bank of Nova Scotia. Canadian Taxpayers Federation: John Williamson, Federal Director. Conseil canadien de la coopération: Michel Rouleau, President. Certified General Accountants Association of Canada: Everett E. Colby, Chair, Tax and Fiscal Policy Committee; Carole Presseault, Vice-President, Government and Regulatory Affairs. Road and Infrastructure Program Canada: Jeff Morrison, Executive Director. Society of Management Accountants of Canada: Steve F. Vieweg, President and Chief Executive Officer; Michael Tinkler, Vice-Chair.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2005.

David F. Podruzny, Kelly Shaughnessy, John Williamson, Michel Rouleau, Everett E. Colby, Jeff Morrison, Steve F. Vieweg and Michael Tinkler made statements and, with Barry Lacombe and Bradley Rowse, answered questions.


At 11:12 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee

2005/11/08 8:58 a.m.