Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 114
Monday, October 24, 2005

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 5:19 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Massimo Pacetti, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Rona Ambrose, Françoise Boivin, Mark Holland, Hon. John McKay, Massimo Pacetti, Charlie Penson, Monte Solberg and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Odina Desrochers for Robert Bouchard.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Sheena Starky, Analyst. Standing Committee on Finance: Christine Lafrance, Clerk of the Committee.


Witnesses: Multiple Format Industry Association: Sharlyn Ayotte, Legislative and Regulatory Affairs. Teamsters Canada: Phil Benson, Lobbyist. Multiple Format Industry Association: Jacques Côté, Associate President. Canadian Federation for Promoting Family Values: Michael Gorman, Founder. Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada: Michael Helewa, President; André Lalonde, Executive Vice-President. Teamsters Canada: François Laporte, Assistant to the President. Canadian Council of Professional Engineers: Marie Lemay, Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Dental Hygienists Association: Susan A. Ziebarth, Executive Director. Toronto General & Western Hospital Foundation: Donald K. Johnson, Director.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations 2005.

Marie Lemay, Susan A. Ziebarth, Michael Gorman, Sharlyn Ayotte, Jacques Côté, Phil Benson, Michael Helewa, André Lalonde and Donald K. Johnson made statements and answered questions.


At 6:44 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis
Clerk of the Committee

2005/11/08 8:56 a.m.