Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 1
Tuesday, October 12, 2004

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 3:33 p.m. this day, in Room 371 West Block, for the purpose of electing a Chair, pursuant to Standing Order 106(1).


Members of the Committee present: Rona Ambrose, Don H. Bell, Guy Côté, Charles Hubbard, Yvan Loubier, John McKay, Maria Minna, Massimo Pacetti, Monte Solberg and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Barry Devolin for Brian Pallister.


Other Members present: Louise Thibault.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Alexandre Laurin, Analyst.

The Clerk of the Committee presided over the election of a Chair.

On motion of Maria Minna, it was agreed, — That Massimo Pacetti be elected Chair of the Committee.


The Clerk of the Committee presided over the election of the Vice-Chairs.


On motion of Rona Ambrose, it was agreed, — That Charlie Penson be elected as Official Opposition Vice-Chair of the Committee.


On motion of Monte Solberg, it was agreed, — That Yvan Loubier be elected as Opposition Vice-Chair of the Committee.


The Committee proceeded to the routine motions.


It was agreed, — That the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure be composed of the Chair, two Vice-Chairs, the Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Finance and a member from the other opposition party.


It was agreed, — That the Chair be authorized to hold meetings to receive and publish evidence when a quorum is not present provided that the Chair and at least two (2) members are present including a member of the opposition and provided that if no member of the Opposition is present 10 minutes after the designated start of the meeting, the meeting may proceed.


It was agreed, — That the Committee retain the services of one or more analysts from the Library of Parliament, as needed, to assist the Committee in its work, at the discretion of the Chair.


It was agreed, — That, witnesses be given up to 10 minutes for their opening statement; that during the questioning of witnesses, the time allocated to each questionner be as follows: On the first round of questionning, up to 10 minutes for the first question of each party. On the following rounds of questionning, up to 5 minutes for each subsequent questioner at the discretion of the Chair.


It was agreed, — That one copy of the transcript of all in camera meetings be kept in the Committee Clerk’s office for consultation by members of the Committee.


It was agreed, — That whenever an Order in Council appointment is referred to the Committee, the Clerk shall obtain and circulate to each Member of the Committee a copy of the said appointment, that the Committee be informed, and the Clerk shall obtain and circulate to each Member of the Committee a copy of the said appointment with the appointee’s curriculum vitae.


It was agreed, — That, if requested, reasonable travel, accommodation and living expenses be reimbursed to witnessses not exceeding two (2) representatives per organization; and that, in exceptional circumstances, payment for more representatives be at the discretion of the Chair.


It was agreed, — That the Clerk of the Committee be authorized to make the necessary arrangements to provide for working meals for the Committee and its Subcommittees.


On motion of Yvan Loubier, it was agreed, — That the meetings of the Committee be normally televised except when the Committee's meeting is in-camera or if there is no meeting room available for broadcasting.


It was agreed, — That, except for amendments to bills, (48) hours’ notice be given before any substantive motion is considered by the Committee; and That the motion be filed with the Clerk of the Committee and circulated to members in both official languages. Upon receipt of the notice, the Clerk shall put the motion on the agenda of the Committee’s next meeting.


At 3:56 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis
Clerk of the Committee

2005/03/15 9:12 a.m.