Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 37
Thursday, May 5, 2005

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met at 11:08 a.m. this day, in Room 269 West Block, the Chair, Alan Tonks, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bernard Bigras, Nathan Cullen, Bob Mills, Hon. Denis Paradis, Christian Simard, Alan Tonks, Jeff Watson and Hon. Bryon Wilfert.


Acting Members present: Francis Scarpaleggia for Yasmin Ratansi.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tim Williams, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Chemical Producers' Association: Richard Paton, President and Chief Executive Officer. Cement Association of Canada: François R. Lacroix, President. Canadian Construction Association: Michael Atkinson, President. Canada Green Building Council: Alex Zimmerman, President. Net-Zero Energy Home Coalition: Gordon Shields, Coordinator; Rob McMonagle, Executive Director, Canadian Solar Industries Association.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on November 23, 2004, the Committee resumed its study on Canada's Implementation of the Kyoto Protocol - Part III - Reducing Demand.

Richard Paton, François R. Lacroix, Michael Atkinson, Alex Zimmerman and Gordon Shields made statements and, with the other witness, answered questions.


On motion of Bob Mills, it was agreed, — That the committee hold a meeting to study the Parks Canada User Fees Proposal, specifically the National Pricing Compendium 2005/06 to 2008/09.


At 1:05 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Eugene Morawski
Clerk of the Committee

2005-05-05 4:04 p.m.