Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 35
Thursday, April 21, 2005

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met in a televised session at 11:05 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C Centre Block, the Chair, Alan Tonks, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Nathan Cullen, Brian Jean, David J. McGuinty, Bob Mills, Yasmin Ratansi, Lee Richardson, Christian Simard, Alan Tonks and Hon. Bryon Wilfert.


Acting Members present: Gord Brown for Jeff Watson, Rodger Cuzner for Hon. Denis Paradis, Marcel Gagnon for Bernard Bigras and Mario Laframboise for Christian Simard.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tim Williams, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. John Godfrey, Minister of State (Infrastructure and Communities).


Witnesses: Infrastructure Canada: André Juneau, Deputy Head; Cécile Cléroux, Assistant Deputy Minister, Program Operations. Department of Natural Resources: Graham Campbell, Director General, Office of Energy Research and Development; Carolyn Preston, CANMET Energy Technology Centre, Devon, Alberta; Mondher BenHassine, Energy Policy Sector; Bill Pearson, CANMET Energy Technology Centre.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on November 23, 2004, the Committee resumed its study on Canada's Implementation of the Kyoto Protocol - Part II - A Lower Carbon Energy Supply.

The Minister made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


Graham Campbell made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 1:12 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Eugene Morawski
Clerk of the Committee

2005-04-22 11:02 a.m.