Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 27
Thursday, March 24, 2005

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met in a televised session at 11:15 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C Centre Block, the Chair, Alan Tonks, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bernard Bigras, Nathan Cullen, Brian Jean, David J. McGuinty, Hon. Denis Paradis, Yasmin Ratansi, Lee Richardson, Christian Simard, Alan Tonks and Hon. Bryon Wilfert.


Acting Members present: David L. Anderson for Jeff Watson, Marcel Gagnon for Christian Simard and Hon. Judi Longfield for Hon. Denis Paradis.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tim Williams, Analyst.


Witnesses: BIOCAP Canada Foundation: David Layzell, CEO and Research Director; Bob Page, Chair, Board of Directors (Vice-President, Sustainable Development, TransAlta Corporation). Propane Gas Association of Canada: Bob Cunningham, Managing Director. Teletrips Inc.: Scott Fleming, CEO; Robert Schulz, Professor, Strategy & General Management, Acting Academic Director, Executive MBA Program, Haskayne School of Business. Canadian Fertilizer Institute: Russ Holowachuk, Vice President and General Manager; Clyde Graham, Vice President, Strategy and Alliances.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on November 23, 2004, the Committee resumed its study on Canada's Implementation of the Kyoto Protocol - Part II - A Lower Carbon Energy Supply.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


At 1:35 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Eugene Morawski
Clerk of the Committee

2005-03-30 12:22 p.m.