Skip to main content
Start of content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 25
Tuesday, March 22, 2005

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met in a televised session at 11:07 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C Centre Block, the Chair, Alan Tonks, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Bernard Bigras, Nathan Cullen, Brian Jean, David J. McGuinty, Bob Mills, Hon. Denis Paradis, Lee Richardson, Christian Simard, Alan Tonks, Jeff Watson and Hon. Bryon Wilfert.


Acting Members present: Marc Godbout for Yasmin Ratansi.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tim Williams, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Solar Industries Associations: Rob McMonagle, Executive Director. Canadian Hydro Developers, Inc.: John Keating, CEO. Canadian Wind Energy Association: Robert Hornung, President. Iogen Corporation: Jeff Passmore, Executive Vice-President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on November 23, 2004, the Committee resumed its study on Canada's Implementation of the Kyoto Protocol - Part II - A Lower Carbon Energy Supply.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.


Bob Mills moved, — That the Environment Committee report to the House of Commons its decision on the motion of March 8 relating to the appointment of Glen Murray to the National Roundtable on the Environment and the Economy.


After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division: YEAS: Bernard Bigras, Nathan Cullen, Brian Jean, David J. McGuinty, Bob Mills, Lee Richardson, Christian Simard, Jeff Watson, Bryon Wilfert — 9; NAYS: Marc Godbout, Denis Paradis — 2.


On motion of Nathan Cullen, it was agreed, —

1) That the Government of Canada develop skills and competence-related criteria for all government appointments, including Board Members and senior Officers of Crown Corporations and other government agencies, for which the Standing Committee on the Environment and Sustainable Development has reviewing responsibility; and that this criteria specifically address the non-partisan nature of these appointments.

2) That the Government then submit this criteria to the Standing Committee on the Environment and Sustainable Development for consideration, and approval with amendment if necessary.

3) That the Government of Canada then publicly release, including publishing in the Canada Gazette, the committee-approved criteria for each appointment.

4) That the names and background of each nominee for appointment be referred to the Standing Committee on the Environment and Sustainable Development 60 days prior to the date of their appointment, with an explanation of how each nominee has met the established criteria; and, that the Committee, unless it unanimously decides otherwise, shall have at least one full meeting every two months (while the House of Commons is in session) to review the nominees.


At 1:06 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Eugene Morawski
Clerk of the Committee

2005-03-22 2:53 p.m.