Skip to main content Start of content

AANO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 45
Tuesday, October 18, 2005

The Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development met at 3:39 p.m. this day, in Room 362, East Block, for the purpose of electing a Chair, pursuant to Standing Order 106(1).


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Sue Barnes, Bernard Cleary, Jeremy Harrison, Nancy Karetak-Lindell, Pat Martin, Serge Ménard, Jim Prentice, Carol Skelton, David Smith, Lloyd St. Amand and Roger Valley.


Acting Members present: Hon. Roy Cullen for David Smith and Barry Devolin for Inky Mark.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mary Hurley, Analyst; Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst. House of Commons: Bibiane Ouellette, Committee Clerk.

The Clerk of the Committee presided over the election of a Chair.

On motion of Roger Valley, it was agreed, — That Lloyd St. Amand be elected Chair of the Committee.


The Clerk of the Committee presided over the election of the Vice-Chairs.


On motion of Jim Prentice, it was agreed, — That Jeremy Harrison be elected as first Vice-Chair of the Committee.


On motion of Serge Ménard, it was agreed, — That Bernard Cleary be elected as second Vice-Chair of the Committee.


At 3:42 p.m., Lloyd St. Amand took the Chair.


It was agreed, — That the Hon. Roy Cullen table a document, provided by the Hon. Anne McLellan, Deputy Minister and Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, concerning the 3rd Report of the Committee.


Sue Barnes moved, — That the existing Committee procedure be amended to read: except for amendments to bills, forty-eight (48) hours' notice be given before any substantive motion is considered by the Committee; and that the motion be filed with the Clerk of the Committee and circulated to members in both official languages.


After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was negatived.


It was agreed, — That the Clerk enquire on the possibility for the Committee to meet on Thursday mornings.


At 4:04 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Roger Préfontaine
Clerk of the Committee

2005-10-28 11:29 a.m.