Skip to main content
Start of content

AANO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 19
Thursday, February 17, 2005

The Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development met at 11:12 a.m. this day, in Room 371 West Block, the Chair, Nancy Karetak-Lindell, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: André Bellavance, Bernard Cleary, Jeremy Harrison, Nancy Karetak-Lindell, Gary Lunn, Pat Martin, Carol Skelton, Lloyd St. Amand and Roger Valley.


Acting Members present: Gary Carr for Sue Barnes and Roy Cullen for David Smith.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mary Hurley, Analyst.


Witnesses: Spirit Wind Association: Raymond Mason, Chairperson. Troniak Law Office: Dennis Troniak, Counsel. As Individuals: Ruth Roulette; Flora Merrick, Residential School Survivor, ADR Applicant; Grace Daniels, Residential School Survivor, ADR Applicant. Association for the Survivors of the Shubenacadie Indian Residential School: Nora Bernard, Director; John McKiggan, Legal counsel. As Individuals: Alfred Joseph Beaver; Jon Faulds, Legal counsel. Indian Residential Schools Adjudication Secretariat: Hon. Ted Hughes, Chief Adjudicator.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) the Committee resumed the study on the Effectiveness of the Government Alternative Dispute Resolution Process for Resolution of Indian Residential Schools Claims.

Dennis Troniak, Ruth Roulette, Flora Merrick, Grace Daniels and Raymond Mason made statements and answered questions.


At 12:31 p.m. the sitting was suspended.

At 12:40 p.m. the sitting resumed.


Nora Bernard, Alfred Joseph Beaver, Jon Faulds and the Hon. Ted Hughes made statements and answered questions.


At 1:57 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean-Philippe Brochu
Clerk of the Committee

2005/02/22 12:02 p.m.