Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 5
Thursday, March 11, 2004

The Standing Committee on Transport met at 11:03 a.m. this day, in Room 371 West Block, the Chair, Raymond Bonin, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Raymond Bonin, John Cannis, Jim Gouk, Ovid Jackson, Christian Jobin, Jim Karygiannis, Mario Laframboise and Lynne Yelich.


Acting Members present: Dick Proctor for Bev Desjarlais.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: John Christopher, Analyst.


Witnesses: Air Canada Pilots Association: David Coles, Chair, Original Air Canada Pilots Merger Committee; Steve Babb, Original Air Canada Pilot; David Jadis, Member, Original Air Canada Pilots Merger Committee. Air Line Pilots Association International: Dan Adamus, Vice-President, Canada Board; Art LaFlamme, Senior Representative, Canada. Canadian Union of Public Employees: France Pelletier, Chair , Health and Safety Committee; Richard Nolan, Vice-President, Air Canada Component; Richard Balnis, Senior Researcher, Air Canada Component. Canadian Coalition for Maritime Security: Onkar Athwal, Vice-President , BC Maritime Employers Association, Vancouver; Kevin Docherty, Vice-President and General Manager, Montreal Gateway Terminal, CP Ships, Montreal. Air Transport Association of Canada: J. Clifford Mackay, President and CEO; Fred L. Jones, Vice-President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee proceeded to a briefing session on multiple issues related to Transport.

David Coles made an opening statement and, with Steve Babb and David Jadis answered questions.


Dan Adamus made an opening statement and, with Art LaFlamme answered questions.


Richard Noland and Richard Balnis made an opening statement and, with France Pelletier answered questions.


Onkar Athwal and Kevin Docherty made an opening statement and, answered questions.


At 12:57 p.m., Lynne Yelich took the Chair.


J. Clifford Mackay made an opening statement and, with Fred L. Jones answered questions.


At 1:26 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Georges Etoka
Clerk of the Committee

2004/03/12 9:02 a.m.