Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 2
Wednesday, February 18, 2004

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 3:29 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C Centre Block, the Chair, Roy Cullen, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Roy Cullen, Rodger Cuzner, Odina Desrochers, Rahim Jaffer, John McKay, Massimo Pacetti, Alex Shepherd, Monte Solberg, Robert Thibault and Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


Acting Members present: Hon. Wayne Easter for Nick Discepola.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Stephen Laurent, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. John McKay, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Finance.


Witnesses: Department of Finance: Krista Campbell, Senior Policy Analyst, CHST and Policy Development, Federal-Provincial Relations and Social Policy Branch; Natasha Rascanin, Senior Chief, Federal-Provincial Relation Division; Clare Scullion, Counsel, General Legal Services Division.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Friday, February 13, 2004, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-18, An Act respecting equalization and authorizing the Minister of Finance to make certain payments related to health.

The Parliamentary Secratary made an opening statement and with Clare Scullion, Natasha Rascanin, Krista Campbell answered questions.


It was agreed, — That the Committee will proceed to the clause by clause consideration of the Bill on Thursday, February 19, 2004 at 9:30 a.m. .


At 4:52 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis
Clerk of the Committee

2004/02/19 11:26 a.m.