Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 12
Thursday, April 1, 2004

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 9:33 a.m. this day, in Room 701 La Promenade Building, the Chair, Roy Cullen, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Roy Cullen, Rodger Cuzner, Nick Discepola, Rahim Jaffer, Massimo Pacetti, Werner Schmidt and Monte Solberg.


Acting Members present: Gilbert Barrette for Hon. Robert Thibault, Claude Duplain for Sophia Leung, John Maloney for Maria Minna and Bob Wood for Gary Pillitteri.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal.


Witnesses: Department of Finance: Micheline Aucoin, Director, International Policy and Institutions Division; Peter DeVries, Director, Fiscal Policy Division, Economic and Fiscal Policy Division; Pierre Doucet, Chief; Dennis Kam, Executive Director, Finance and Administration / Corporate Services Branch; Glenn R. Campbell, Chief; Louis Lévesque, Assistant Deputy Minister, Federal-Provincial Relations and Social Policy Branch; Lynn Hemmings, Policy Analyst; Lynn MacFarlane, Deputy Director, FINTRAC; Sylvie Mercier, Chief Financial Services, Canadian International Trade Tribunal; Alistar Smith, General Director; Frank Swedlove, Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Sector Policy Branch; Christine Walker, Senior Director, Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada, Finance and Informatics Sevices.

Pursuant to Standing Order 81(4), the Committee commenced consideration of the Main Estimates 2004-2005: Vote 1, 5, L10, 15, 25, 30 and 35 under Finance.

The Chair called Vote 1 under Finance.


Dennis Kam, Peter Devries, Lynn MacFarlane, Sylvie Mercier, Pierre Doucet, Glen Campbell, Lynn Hemmings, Alister Smith, Micheline Aucoin and Christine Walker answered questions.


At 10:59 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis
Clerk of the Committee

2004/04/01 2:34 p.m.