Skip to main content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 8

Monday, February 3, 2003

The Standing Committee on Transport met in camera at 3:34 p.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Joe Comuzzi, presiding.

Member(s) of the Committee present: John Cannis, Joe Comuzzi, Liza Frulla, Roger Gallaway, Jim Gouk, Ovid Jackson, Stan Keyes, Robert Lanctôt, Marcel Proulx.

Acting Member(s) present: Reg Alcock for Larry Bagnell;  Joe Fontana for Pat O’Brien.

In attendance:  From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament:  John Christopher, Principal Analyst.

The Committee met in camera for the consideration of its future business.

At 3:47 p.m. – By unanimous consent, the Committee reverted to a public meeting.

Marcel Proulx offered his resignation as Vice-Chair (Government) of the Committee since he has been appointed Parliamentary Secretary.

Pursuant to Standing Order 116(2), election of the Vice-Chair (Government).

The Clerk presided over the election of the Vice-Chair (Government) of the Committee.

Reg Alcock moved, - That John Cannis be elected Vice-Chair (Government) of the Committee.

By unanimous consent, John Cannis was elected Vice-Chair (Government) of the Committee.

By unanimous consent it was agreed that Robert Lanctôt be permitted to move the motion standing in the name of Mario Laframboise, which reads as follows:  - That the Standing Committee on Transport examine the issue of highway infrastructures across Canada, in order to provide the Minister of Transport with information for his negotiations with the Minister of Industry, responsible for the infrastructure program, and with the Minister of Finance, in the preparation of his budget.

After debate, the motion was agreed to.

At 4:23 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Georges Etoka

Clerk of the Committee